backing paper numbers show on negatives.

Funky Face

A
Funky Face

faded glory

A
faded glory

• Tel
  • Oct 7, 2022
Parkbench images

A
Parkbench images

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
ocieb
Recent bookmarks

Dirk Dom

Shooter
Med. Format RF
Hi!

I spent six weeks in san Francisco, shooting my Mamiya 7. i also shoot a linhof technikardan 69, with rollfilm.

I shot Kodak Tmax 400, exposed to 800 ASA, pushed one stop in developing, developed in Tmax developer.

All my films show the markings of the backing paper numbers on my clear sky portions. They are darker than the surrounding sky.

I developed the film eight to two weeks after it was exposed. I didn't refrigerate the film, it was kept at room temperature in a cloth bag.

I've been using kodak Tmax 400 for a few years, and never had this before. this is the first time, however, that I didn't develop the film immediately.

I'm 100% sure it isn't a light leak problem.

I'd like to continue using roll film on longer trips, with the Technikardan.

Does anyone know what causes this and what I can do to prevent it? like putting the film in bags with silicagel?

Thank you,

Dirk.

Attachments

• voor photo net.jpg
    voor photo net.jpg
    214.4 KB · Views: 1,131

gorbas

Subscriber
Shooter
35mm Pan
WoW! Bad news! So far I haven't seen this effect on Kodak 120 film. Have seen it on 120 format films from Foma (fresh) , Agfa and some Iilford (both expired).
No. It's not light leak problem, it's storage problem or to be precise, chemical interaction between film emulsion and paper and printing inks used for backing paper.
How fresh rolls were? I don't think that a few weeks wait after exposure made any difference.
Do you have any more unexposed rolls left from the same emulsion #. kept in the similar condition to test it?

Sceptic

Shooter
Medium Format
This happened to me before, but only on extremely expired film which I experimented with

sly

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format