Members
Latest member
lion
Recent bookmarks

BlueWind

Shooter
35mm
Hello
Can you recommend a B&W paper developer with long shelf life ? I usually like to print for two or three consecutive days, with intervals of several weeks.
Which developer would you recommend ?
The developer will be kept in dark air-tight bottles at room temperature.
Thank you
Joao

koraks

Shooter
Multi Format
The developer will be kept in dark air-tight bottles at room temperature.

That makes all the difference.
I've been using ID62 and ID78 for a few years now because I prefer homebrew paper developers. I replenish 'by the seat of the pants' and keep the working stock and concentrates in glass bottles. I've had them sit around for weeks, unused, ready to go on the next session. I generally replenish at the end of each session so that the working strength bottle is entirely full with no air on top.

Rudeofus

Subscriber
Shooter
Medium Format
Yes, that's the best way to go IMHO: work with stock solution or even a concentrated version of it. I use self mixed D-72 (aka Dektol) as stock solution, with weekly print sessions interrupted by lith or color development sessions. I mix 2 liters at once, and use it over the course of 3-6 months. It rarely fails after that time (have seen it, but only after many, many more months). I mostly have to replenish, when carryover reduced the 2 liters to less than 1 liter.

Background: Concentrated aqueous solutions dissolve a lot less Oxygen than diluted ones or pure water, therefore you get much less oxidation in stock solution. Another factor may be Carbon Dioxide: a stock soluion has much stronger buffering, therefore equal amounts of dissolved Carbon Dioxide will affect pH much less.

koraks

Shooter
Multi Format
Background: Concentrated aqueous solutions dissolve a lot less Oxygen than diluted ones or pure water, therefore you get much less oxidation in stock solution.