Developing Fuji Acros in Diafine - seeking feedback / tips and tricks

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by ITKI, Jan 5, 2018.

1. ITKI

ITKI Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello everybody!

I have started using Fuji Acros 100 in 35mm, and I'm developing it in Jobo tanks using Diafine.

Using the 'official' method as described here with the Acros-specific 22°C and 5:5 with gentle agitation every minute.
    Solutions and Fixer are pretty perfectly at 22°C though I have a hard time to keep my tap water at a constant temp;
    it's not far off for the 30s rinse between A and B but it does drop during the final wash - can't imagine this being a big problem though (may be wrong).

My major issue is that the negs come out very contrasty, and I'm not sure why that is.
    Another thing is that they scan a bit weird, with blocked highlights (using Quato Intelli Scan 5000 with SilverFast Ai).
    Posting some examples below. All straight out the scanner

I appreciate any help, tips, tricks, suggestions!

Thank you all and have a nice day!

TK

Unbenannt-3.jpg Unbenannt-2.jpg Unbenannt-4.jpg

2. bvy

bvy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Those are contrasty. Diafine is a compensating developer and usually calls for some underexposure. It wouldn't be my first choice for Acros or any emulsion <ISO400. How are you exposing these, and what are you trying to accomplish with Diafine versus a more traditional developer?

I don't think your temperatures are an issue. The 5:5 seems long (isn't 3:3 prescribed for most things?) but it shouldn't have this kind of effect on contrast. I can't access your link for whatever reason.

3. OP
    OP
    ITKI

ITKI Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi @bvy - thanks for your feedback!

Yea I'm underexposing a bit - that is I shoot the Acros 100 at 200.