Why do FOMA papers cost more than ILFORD??

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
adam m
Recent bookmarks

chip j

Shooter
35mm
And I don't think that Arista/EDU papers are the same as FOMA ones.

Anon Ymous

Shooter
35mm
Perhaps you should ask why Ilford products are so much cheaper in the USA compared to Europe.

sterioma

Shooter
Medium Format
Why do FOMA papers cost more than ILFORD??

No, they don't, at least in Europe. FOMA is actually way cheaper.
There is a world outside US, you know?

End of rant.

pentaxpete

Shooter
Multi Format
When searching for darkroom papers I saw on the Ag Photographic site 'FOMA' and other makes and they ARE more expensive ! The BEST price is 'Kentmere' which I used for many years when it was available only for 'Government Departments' and I worked as a photographer in the Ministry of Aviation and got introduced to Kentmere papers. They had their factory in the small village of Kentmere in the Lake District. In the 1960's i was invited to a factory tour. They had a 'festoon' method to dry the paper and it smelt strongly of 'Jeyes Fluid' in the huge room due to the preservative in the emulsion !

sterioma

Shooter
Medium Format
Fotoimpex.com is arguably one of the biggest online shops (physically located in Germany). Huge selection and very competitive prices.
I was buying from there when I was living in Italy and I continue to do so now from UK.

Random sample:
Cost of 100 packet 5x7 RC variable contrast paper: Ilford 27.96 EUR, Foma: 17,90 EUR.

AG photographic is in England, so maybe transport costs favour Ilford (or maybe it's something else). But it's not universally true that FOMA papers are more expensive.
My comment was more about making broad generalizations without providing context.

iakustov

Shooter
Multi Format
It depends on location and paper. Fomatone is usually in the same price range as Ilford / ADOX per my experience, other Foma paper are cheaper.

pentaxuser

Subscriber
Shooter
35mm