Threads
Members
Latest member
Agreenier
Recent bookmarks

gfeucht

Shooter
35mm RF
I am trying a switch to TF-5 fixer for film and noticed something a bit disconcerting: when I pour it out of the tank after fixing, it’s very purple/pink. About triple the amount of that same color after a normal first wash or hypo clearing. I’ve normally used Kodak rapid fixer and have never seen this before.

Is this normal for TF-5?

mshchem

Subscriber
Shooter
Medium Format
I'm not an expert on TF-5 fixer, I've never tried it. I believe it is supposed to be neutral. Bromcresol purple (quick check of the internet) is purple at pH 6.8. Not sure if it's the indicator or the dyes that are used in film. Tmax films will have purple traces even after fixing.
I use Kodak Hypo Clearing Agent, for 2 minutes after fixing for Tmax films this seems to conquer the purple.

Maybe a Formulary fixer user can offer a better explanation.

OP
OP

gfeucht

Shooter
35mm RF
Additional details- Formulary says No Hypoclear is needed. I’ve done with and without. Without hypo the first wash is very purple as normal and gradually fades away over the next 4-5 water changes. The final negative is not purple like a poorly-fixed neg.

It’s just weird seeing the fixer itself pour our purple.

amam

Shooter
Analog
I used TF4 and TF5 fir a while reeked of ammonia too much for me, and I am skeptical of any company that says you don't need fixer remover with an ammonium thiosulfate fixer. ditch the stop bath, it's not necessary, use water instead (unless you are using soft efke emulsions) I'd get some fixer remover instead! ( and a clothespin for your nose ). PEEE U!

mshchem

Subscriber
Shooter
Medium Format
Additional details- Formulary says No Hypoclear is needed. I’ve done with and without. Without hypo the first wash is very purple as normal and gradually fades away over the next 4-5 water changes. The final negative is not purple like a poorly-fixed neg.

It’s just weird seeing the fixer itself pour our purple.