Not sure if pushed film... What to do?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Jason Bartone, Mar 8, 2018.

1. Jason Bartone

Jason Bartone Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hey guys, I'm very new to this darkroom stuff. Yesterday I went out and bought the following chemicals for my TRI-X 400:
    1. R09 One Shot developer.
    2. Ilfostop
    3. Ilford Rapid Fixer
    4. Kodak Professional Photo-flo 200

Ive been shooting Kodak tri-x a lot lately, mostly pushing everything up a stop. the thing is, I didn't label two of my rolls +1
    What happens if I push film in development that wasn't pushed when I shot it? should it take the risk? Am I better off developing it normally and pushing it on paper?
    Thanks.
    I also shoot Ilford if your wondering

2. bvy

bvy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome to Photrio. I would say develop normally. Tri-X (most black and white film) has a lot of latitude, meaning plus or minus one stop, you'll get scannable or printable negatives. If you push film one stop that was shot at box speed (i.e. develop it slightly longer), you might get negatives with a bit more density. That's also a valid approach.

3. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Groups:
    Normally develop because one stop is well within the latitude of exposure. Developing longer merely increases the contrast. Just shoot the box speed because the latitude of modern negative films is so great.

4. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just for clarity.
    "Pushing" film means changing (increasing) the development - not changing the exposure.
    A push development increases contrast, and therefore makes under-exposed film look a bit better.
    I take it you are unsure about whether you exposed the film normally, or under-exposed it by one stop.