New app for making "exif notes"

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by team_player, May 26, 2016.

1. team_player

team_player Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi everyone! I'm an avid film photographer and while shooting film I like to take quick notes of my camera settings, time & date, location etc. For the past year or so I've been developing an Android app that enables you to quickly and easily save your camera settings and other notes on your phone. The app was in beta testing for quite some time but the number of participants through my local photography forum fell short of what I was aiming for. I have made the app publicly available so that now anyone can download it.

And so I would like to invite you guys to test the app and give me some valuable feedback, bug reports and feature wishes. So if you're an Android user and you like to take notes while shooting film, hop along! Your feedback can actually affect future versions of the app. Despite being an early version, the app is actually quite polished and well tested. You should already be able to use it without any major hiccups or in-app data losses.

The idea for this app came out of my personal needs really. I didn't find the current note taking apps on Android, including the ones made for this purpose, to really suit my needs, and so I decided to code one for myself. The goal for this app is to be fast and intuitive to use as well as easy on the eyes. What it lacks in features it should make up for in ease of use. In addition to being able to take notes and view them on your phone, you can also share your "exif notes" through Dropbox for example. The app has ExifTool integration in the sense that you can export automatically created ExifTool commands. You can use these commands to save the exif data on your scanned files on your computer using ExifTool.