issues w/ Rodinal and HP5

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by 29neibolt, May 18, 2018 at 12:37 AM.

1. 29neibolt

29neibolt Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi guys,

I'm new to developing B&W. I'm using a Paterson tank to develop a roll of HP5, and the attached negatives are what I've ended up with on my first two rolls with the tank (both HP5, both developed 1 roll at a time). Any ideas what could cause this? Am I loading the reel incorrectly? Please and thanks in advance!

Rodinal (1+50) for 11 minutes w/ 5 slow inversions every minute. Ilfostop for 30 seconds. Ilford rapid fixer for 5 minutes. Rinse. Photo Flo. Scream into a pillow.

https://imgur.com/43ePKpa
    https://imgur.com/TzPAdvp

2. awty

awty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Looks to me to be light leaks. Did you load the film onto the spool in complete darkness? I have had something similar when I have taken too long to load the film and there has been a slither of light come through a crack in the door or something.....Or even a dark bag when I have removed my hand while putting film on the spool.

If the chemistry is good than your process would not cause that. Any chemistry problems would be more even.

3. howardpan

howardpan Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I can’t tell from your photos if this is a roll of 120 or 135. It would also be useful to see the entire negative and more frames. I also assume you followed Ilford’s instructions and fixed at 1+4 dilution for 2-4 minutes. Did you get a single good frame?

4. OP
    OP
    29neibolt

29neibolt Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I loaded it in the same changing bag both times. I've wondered if the elastic bands around the wrist were tight enough so I suspect you're right. I was fussing with the spool for a long time both times as well. I'll try another round loading in a dark room instead. Thank you!

5. awty

awty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format