Is this really what my negatives look like?

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by sterioma, Nov 24, 2018.

1. sterioma

sterioma Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have printed contact sheets from my negatives for the first time today and I was astonished how dark they can look if "properly exposed". I am not sure whether I am doing something wrong, so I thought I'd ask.

I have been printing on an off for a few years now, but I had never bothered doing contacts sheets. I usually scan my negs and then decide what to enlarge in the darkroom; or for a quick look I use a little nice Android app called Helmut (which basically inverts the negative back to a positive using the phone's camera) while examining the negatives on a light box.

The other day I was reading How To Make a Proper Proof Sheet (by T. R. Halfill), where the author insists that "In a proper proof, the clear, unexposed edges of the negatives should be as black as the areas of print paper between the strips of film. And those areas should be as black as the paper ever gets."

So today I had 4 hours in our communal darkroom, and broght with me a couple of Medium Format and a couple of 35mm negatives (all HP5+, exposed from 250 EI to 800, alll souped in HC-110 but for one stand development in Rodinal).