Good First Enlarger

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by BySumbergsStache, May 27, 2016.

1. BySumbergsStache

BySumbergsStache Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm just starting out with making prints. I'd like to do BW and color prints, and I use 35mm and 4x5 film. What is a good first enlarger? Also, what are some good resources for enlarger information?

I've used the Omega D2 at school to make enlargements of 35mm and 4x5, however with school being out, I no longer have access to it. In addition, I'd like to do color film too.

CT

2. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Beseler 23 series would be a good choice.

If I were you I would search the local Craigslists and then post links up here and ask advice.

4. Jim Jones

Jim Jones Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes, Craig's list or any of many other sources. Most of the better 4x5 enlargers will accommodate 35mm film. With some, accessories beyond negative carriers are required for different sizes. I had to improvise a couple of accessories to use 35mm film in my ancient, but excellent, DeJur 4x5 enlarger. It still isn't convenient for multi-contrast or color printing. Avoid Testrite 4x5 enlargers, sometimes sold as Tower and perhaps other brands. When considering any enlarger you are not familiar with, look for manuals online or ask questions here.

5. Patrick Robert James

Patrick Robert James Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Med. Format Pan
    Since you want to do 4x5 you might as well just pony up for a good enlarger. A Saunders/LPL or a Durst 1200 would be best/easiest to find of the good ones. If you have to get a D2 or a Beseler, but they just aren't as good. It may take you a while to find a Saunders/Durst but you live in CT so there should be someone around you at some point that wants to sell theirs. Craigslist.....

6. canvassy