Epson Perfection 3200 Photo...need help!

Schweppes

A
Schweppes

  • 3
  • 1
  • 47
Twoism

D
Twoism

  • 0
  • 1
  • 48
Skimming Stones

D
Skimming Stones

  • 1
  • 0
  • 91
Stone In Focus

D
Stone In Focus

  • 0
  • 0
  • 69

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
177,058
Messages
2,428,812
Members
94,120
Latest member
NegativeCreep
Recent bookmarks
1
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
For some crazy reason, while in the middle of scanning negatives, my scanner just stopped. Completely quit. Hubby and I thought it might be the USB, but after purchasing a new one, that was not the case. The scanner was then tested with another PC in the house, still no luck. We've downloaded patches, updates, etc., but still, the scanner does not work. The green light is on in the front and the scanner bed light comes on...that's it.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Do these scanners just quit? We called customer support at Epson only to be told that the scanner was just out of warranty and that they wanted to charge us for helping with the problem over the phone. I don't think so! REAL disappointed in THAT one!!!

So...I'm looking for any tips, ideas, suggestions as to what may have gone wrong!!!!!!!!!

Dorothy--
 

ann

Subscriber
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
3,328
Shooter
35mm
check the cords in the back, this happen to me and after the fact and a series of teeth grinding events i found out a cable was loose.

p.s; how does one load a picture to the gallery if one can't scan?:confused:
 
OP
OP
Dorothy Blum Cooper
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
Thanks Ann...check on the plugs/cords. Everything there seems to be intact. We even re-loaded software, went to Epson's site and have just hit a brick wall. Thought maybe there might be something I was missing. Still hoping! I sure hate to have to buy another scanner as the repair costs on this one aren't worth it, I'm sure.

Dorothy--
 

ian_greant

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
402
Location
Calgary
Shooter
Multi Format
"all the lights come on and all the cords are in"

Has the scanner reset the CCD sensor bar back to the rear of the scanner or is it stopped partially through the scan cycle?

I'd probably do a search on one of the epson scanner forums and see if this is a common problem and what the solution and repair costs have been.

If you are fairly convinced you don't want to repair it then I'd slap the side of it a couple times to see if that convinces it to go.. As strange as it sounds I've *fixed* any number of things that way.. If not permanantly at least to limp along until I felt like replacing them.
 

FrankB

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2003
Messages
2,143
Location
Northwest UK
Shooter
Medium Format
Gentle slaps, though...

Scanners have more delicate moving parts than most gizmos, and it'd be easy to knock something out of register, so don't welly it too hard. My (electronically experienced) gut tells me that this is not something that is likely to be fixed by the "broadband seismic impulse" approach...

First bet, software glitch; reload drivers, fiddle with settings, cold reboot and keep trying. Second bet, dry joint; a little resoldering might do it, if you know someone capable and confident enough to tackle it (Not me! I solder like a pidgeon pooing from several hundred feet!). Third bet, belt it one; nothing to lose...!
 

Mongo

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
960
Location
Pittsburgh,
Shooter
Multi Format
FrankB said:
..."broadband seismic impulse" approach...

I've always heard this referred to as "percussive maintenance".
 

mark

Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
5,686
I have a monitor that I have to "lay hands on" from time to time to get the color back to normal, It works and has taken quite the beating. On a scanner I would be afraid of the moving parts getting thrown out of wack. I second calling epson or asking on the scanner forums.
 

photomc

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
3,575
Location
Texas
Shooter
Multi Format
Dorthy, one other thougt most scanners have a "lock" that keeps the important stuff (technical term) from moving around while the unit is being moved. Might find it and check to see if it has been moved to a partially locked position. Would guess you have powered the scanner off and back on. When you do does it do anything other than the green light coming on? The light should move as it gets into position, even when not connected to a PC.

Yep Ann! May be the home of APUG, but in this case this is a valid question I think....Sean, any comments?
 

roteague

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
6,644
Location
Kaneohe, Haw
Shooter
4x5 Format
photomc said:
Yep Ann! May be the home of APUG, but in this case this is a valid question I think....Sean, any comments?

I don't think helping someone out with a problem is out of line.
 

Shmoo

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
973
Location
Southern Cal
Shooter
4x5 Format
Photomc's right about the scanner lock. On the 3200 it's on the left side towards the back and looks like a large plastic flathead screw top. Just another thing you don't have to worry about in a darkroom...
:D
 
OP
OP
Dorothy Blum Cooper
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
Hope I didn't create any controversy by posting...just desperate.

To set the record here...I'm a straight black and white film photographer who is still dependant on darkroom printing only!! The scanner we use is for proofing for the few clients I take. I love this site for all it offers and thank you all for your help. I really appreciate it.

As much as I'd love to say 'problem solved'...I can't. We've tried everything suggested and still can't get the darned thing to initialize. You can here the scanner set itself (the bar slid back into place, the scanner light came on under the glass), but that's it. After that...the program won't come up for me to operate the scanner. It's almost as if the computer doesn't want to work with the scanner. At a complete loss!

Again...thank you all for taking time to make suggestions. I'm still game for anything else I may be overlooking!

Dorothy--
 

erjie

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
2
Location
Belgium, Mec
Shooter
35mm
Has anyone else run into this problem? Do these scanners just quit? We called customer support at Epson only to be told that the scanner was just out of warranty and that they wanted to charge us for helping with the problem over the phone. I don't think so! REAL disappointed in THAT one!!!

So...I'm looking for any tips, ideas, suggestions as to what may have gone wrong!!!!!!!!!

Dorothy--[/QUOTE]

Hi Dorothy,
I think it's a matter of memory (maybe you better upgrade this for work without problems in the future).
Best you can doe is Uninstall the scanner, reboot and re-install the software.
I hope this will help.
Greez,
erjie
 

Fintan

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
1,795
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Multi Format
is this PC or Mac?
What operating system?
Is scanner USB?
Are there any lights on, red or green?
Do you leave scanner on before switching computer on

No appologies necessary, the gallery would be scarce if there was nobody using scanners.
 

geraldatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Messages
413
Location
Hicksville,
Shooter
35mm RF
Nothing wrong with using scanners. I strictly wet print my B&W negatives in my garage darkroom. Wouldn't even think of printing B&W any other way. But I save a lot of time by scanning my negatives to get a better idea of what I have than just looking at contact prints. Really helps in the selection process.
 
OP
OP
Dorothy Blum Cooper
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
Best you can doe is Uninstall the scanner, reboot and re-install the software

Did that...still no luck :sad:

is this PC or Mac?

PC

Is scanner USB?

USB

Are there any lights on, red or green?

Yes...green light is on the front panel.

Do you leave scanner on before switching computer on

Yes...the scanner stays on but we've turned it completely off, shut the computer down, restarted the computer, then turned the scanner back on.

Again...thanks for the suggestions. I'm still workin' on this sucker in hopes of resuscitating it!!

Dorothy--
 

Fintan

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
1,795
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Multi Format
Theres nothing wrong with the scanner, it the light flashing was red you would be in trouble.

Can you look at the installation CD, your driver should be "epson11167.exe"

Can you say how many USB ports on your PC?

What version of windows?
 
OP
OP
Dorothy Blum Cooper
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
Can you look at the installation CD, your driver should be "epson11167.exe"

Yes...it's the epson11167.exe that's been downloaded and installed.

Can you say how many USB ports on your PC?

I'm not sure on that...I think one port? Waiting for my husband to email back as he's the one that's been fooling with the plugs and all...that's off limits to me :wink:

What version of windows?

2000 Office, I think.

Dorothy--
 

Fintan

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
1,795
Location
Ireland
Shooter
Multi Format
I would remove the driver and installation software, reboot, connect into a different USB port and let the automatic installation run, pointing of course to the latest driver.

You could also try a different USB cable in case its damaged.
Or install the scanner on a different PC to be sure its not the scanner itself [which I doubt it is]
 

removed account4

Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
29,853
Shooter
Hybrid
dorothy -

sometimes if you unplug the scanner totally from everything - the wall, the computer &C, wait about 5-10 minutes. while you are waiting, shut your computer down, and reboot + reset your peripherals ... then plug everything back in ... sometimes that works to reset it.

good luck!

- john
 

erjie

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
2
Location
Belgium, Mec
Shooter
35mm
Hi Dorothy, I've got the same problem a time ago. Maybe you settings for dpi were too high or the dimensions for the scan too big. Than the memory become full and the whole thing stops.
Uninstall the Epson (-> Software -> Uninstall) and shut down your PC.
Wait for several minutes so the memory can be empty, disconnect the cables.
Restart your PC and install the software again. Connect your cables and reboot.
Normally that must clear the problem.
If you did all this and the problem consists there is something worse with the hardware.
Greez,
erjie
 
OP
OP
Dorothy Blum Cooper
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Messages
324
Location
North Caroli
Shooter
Multi Format
Fintan,
This is what I can tell you now after confirming:

Can you say how many USB ports on your PC?

2 USB ports...I've tried it in both

What version of windows?

Win 2k (windows 2000)

So far, this is what I can add to the list of what we've already done:

We've loaded the drivers on an XP computer and installed the scanner...still won't intialize. We've tried both USB ports...they are both USB 1 not USB 2. USB 2 is better, newer faster. We've tried a new USB 2 cable. I've made sure the lock is not engaged. We''ve uninstalled and then re-installed the software. We've gently shaken it. We've look all over for a forum that addresses the failure to initialize. We've gone to the scanner properties through the control panel and made sure that the right selections are made (and not made). Under control panel...the test communication button on scanners doesn't show available.

Does this do anything? Thanks again for taking time to help me out here!

Dorothy--
 

Mongo

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
960
Location
Pittsburgh,
Shooter
Multi Format
Dorothy-

I believe your problem is hardware related, not software related. (By the way: It can't be related to the shipping lock, as that can only engage the carriage when the carriage is all of the way to the top of the scanner. Trust me on this one, as I've had my 3200 apart.)

You might try looking over in the Yahoo! Groups Epson 3200 group for information. Should you decide that you're desperate enough to disassemble the scanner, there are instructions there (relating to how to clean the underside of the glass) that show you how to take the scanner apart.

If you decide that this scanner is dead and you don't want to shell out the money for a new 4780, Epson is selling refurbished 3200's through the Clearance section of their web site for $299. No bargain, but not as bad as the new scanners either.

Best of luck to you.
Dave
 
Photrio.com contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
To read our full affiliate disclosure statement please click Here.

PHOTRIO PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Ilford Photo ADOX Freestyle Photographic Photo Warehouse Stearman Press Weldon Color Lab
Top Bottom