Members
Latest member
ocieb
Recent bookmarks

pbromaghin

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
We have a vacation trip coming up. I will bring HP5+ and FP4+ in 35mm as well as PanF in 120. This will all be processed in full-strength, replenished D23 with constant roller agitation. There will of course be bright sun, cloudy days, and maybe some attempts at indoor architecture. I'm pretty new to D23, and just so I can thoroughly confuse myself, what Exposure Index would you recommend for each of these.

Shooter
4x5 Format
No one can give you a definitive answer to your question since your own, individual E.I. will depend on your equipment, metering techniques, etc. Unless you test yourself to find your best E.I., you'll never really know.

That said, rating your film 2/3 stop slower than box speed is usually a good starting point for testing. If I had to work with untested film, I'd likely expose it there; a bit of overexposure is no problem, but underexposure is.

As far as using roll film in situations with substantially different subject brightness ranges goes, you really just have to be very careful metering and compensating for very contrasty situations. If you are spot metering and basing your exposure on a shadow value, then there are no problems, but if you are using an in-camera averaging/matrix meter, the camera will tend to underexpose contrasty scenes. To compensate, add a stop of extra exposure with your exposure compensation or whatever.

Best,

Doremus

ags2mikon

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format