Worries about posting images

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by Eric Rose, Apr 25, 2018.

1. Eric Rose

Eric Rose Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It seems I have only run into amateurs who refuse to post images online because they are worried someone might download it. Or if they do post they often put ugly copyright notices on their images.

Fortunately here at Photrio those that post don't go the copyright notice route.

But really what can someone do with a 1000px (just over 3 inches) image anyway. The worst they can do is put it on their own website and represent it as their own. As an amateur your not loosing any money and you will probably never know. Nor will your friends.

The big name pros don't seem to have a problem putting up their images. Why is it that it's mainly amateurs who are so paranoid?

2. BradS

BradS Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm not a professional (photographer), not really even an amateur...just a hobbyist. I just assume that if it is posted on the web, it will be used without permission. I just don't care.

...but to answer your question, why are amateurs so paranoid? maybe, it isn't so much paranoia as it is an inflated sense of importance?

Last edited: Apr 25, 2018
  3. winger

winger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, my mother-in-law has been known to try and print from tiny files as well as getting her daughter to "upsize" them. But that's mostly limited to shots of her grandchildren.

I think amateurs who want to make money with photography (and aren't, yet) think they'll lose more if they don't add the copyright notice. Pros know they're getting paid.

4. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    IDK i can think of a handful of reasons:

maybe it is just what they say, and they just don't want anyone to see any of their photographs
    whether they re great or less great;
    or maybe they don't want to present their work online or wherever because they