Members
Latest member
talzand
Recent bookmarks

brucemuir

Shooter
Multi Format
Hello,
I've been doing my own B&W processing for say 5 years now and mostly have gone with commercially available developers/chemicals but would like to start learning what the individual components/chemicals do and their effect etc.

I've used D76, HC 110 and am experimenting with PMK at the moment.

I'd like a recommendation for which Darkroom Cookbook I should get but don't want the info to be limited to just negative developing because I'd like to try some b&w reversal processes.

I know about the Tmax Direct positive kit & the Ilford instructions but would like to understand fully what is going on and then possibly tailor my own process to my needs.

Does the Film Developing Cookbook cover b&w reversal and would that be my best bet?

I already own "The Negative" but would like something more in depth.
(i need to revisit "The Negative" as well)

I'd be interested in hearing what people find is the most useful text and why.

Thanks.

Ian Grant

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
The Darkroom Cookbook 3rd Edition is the best it's up to date has formulae like Pyrocat HD, articles by Sandy King, Pat Gainer etc and covers both film & paper chemistry including toners, intensifiers, etc.

Reversal is only covered in the DCB 3rd Edition, and not Steve Anchell's previous books

Ian

Shooter
Medium Format
Ian, I was wondering. I want to buy that book, but I cannot tell if the 3rd edition omitted anything at all from the 2nd edition. I understand that things have been added, but have any formulae been omitted from the third edition? Thank you for your help.

Ian Grant

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
It's much more comprehensive, maybe one or two formulae are omitted but certainly nothing of importance. I can only think of one which didn't work well with modern warm-tone papers which was replaced by one which does.

Ian

L Gebhardt

Subscriber
Shooter
Large Format