Use of luminescent clock with tank development

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by zinnanti, Feb 14, 2009.

1. zinnanti

zinnanti Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Hi -

I'm a noob to 4x5 tank development. I am equipped for and planning to develop my 4x5 negs via tanks and hangars.

Light leaks in my dark room are nominal. I print without any issues.

Will use of my Gra-Lab luminescent clock create any issues, however? I would be using it in close proximity to the development/stop/fixer tanks.

Thanks a bunch.

Tony

2. Bob-D659

Bob-D659 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I dunno about your clock, but a luminescent stick on spot on a used easel I bought will leave a nice mark on RA-4 paper it it sits on it for a sec or two. A test would be a good idea, film fogs easier than paper. :sad:

3. mcd

mcd Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format

I'd worry about the light leaks before the GraLab timer. I have always handled black and white film within a few feet of the timer and never had any problems.

4. Eric Rose

Eric Rose Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have one within 3 feet of my open tanks for doing stand and semi stand development and have never had a problem.

5. Adrian Twiss

Adrian Twiss Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I used to do tray processing with a luminous Smiths timer without any prombls. The timer was about 2 feet away from the tray and about 18 inches above it.

6. OP
    OP
    zinnanti

zinnanti Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Thanks all. I'll give it a roll today/tonight and report back.

7. pgomena

pgomena Member

I once had a problem with a gra-lab timer too close to a tray of T-max 400 sheet film. Fogged it enough to ruin a couple of sheets. It was in a borrowed darkroom and probably within 18" of the tray. I remember it seeming bright at the time. It can happen.

Peter Gomena

8. Monophoto

Monophoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format