The Olympus Pen ee-3

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by artur ferreira, Jan 29, 2018.

  1. artur ferreira

    artur ferreira Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    brazil
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Comrades, I just bought a wornout Olympus Pen ee-3. I am sure it's a great camera, even though the one I've got is king of rusty in some specif parts, my guess is that it is a very old piece. Anyhow... I've been finding myself confronted by some specif problems; it's loaded, but it won't shot when the red flag is on. It's on from the 25 ASA to the 400 preset, (is that the ISO?). After that the red flag is off and it seems to be shotting perfectly. My concern is that in the configurations where the red flag is off, the pictures will come too dark (rembebering that it's from 4 to 35). Am I doing something wrong? Or the already used camera should be the problem? Furthermore, I can shot some pictures when the red flag is on by pressing the shotting button very strong and fast, which makes the camera bounce and when I do that, even though the flag would be appearing at that specif condition, it doesn't appear. I think it's because of the way I press the button.
    Here there are some pictures of this "fine" piece: (the first one indicating the red flag, the preset was at 400) IMG_1745.JPG IMG_1743.JPG
     
  2. Helios 1984

    Helios 1984 Member

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Location:
    Smallville, Canada
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi and welcome to APUG.

    what type of film did you loaded in and are you trying to shoot indoor or outdoor?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    artur ferreira

    artur ferreira Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    brazil
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Hey! I loaded a Kodak ColorPlus 200, and I am trying to shoot both indoors and outdoors.
     
  4. E. von Hoegh

    E. von Hoegh Member

    Messages:
    5,136
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Have you searched google for the instructions, and read them?
    There's a good chance the selenium meter is inaccurate or non functional.
     
  5. Helios 1984

    Helios 1984 Member

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Location:
    Smallville, Canada
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Maybe you have a sticky aperture mechanism? It happens when these little guys haven't been used in a long time. Try to set the camera at 3.5 on the orange scale and see if the aperture opens completely when you press the release button.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    artur ferreira

    artur ferreira Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    brazil
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Not yet, I've been looking for it, but it seems to be unavailable on the internet. About the selenium meter: I think you might be right, unfortunately. I am just gonna fill this film, print it and see how it comes out.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    artur ferreira

    artur ferreira Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    brazil
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I did and it opens completely!
     
  8. E. von Hoegh

    E. von Hoegh Member

    Messages:
    5,136
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    Shooter:
    Multi Format

    Very easy to find, if you actually look: http://www.butkus.org/chinon/olympus/olympus_pen_ee-2/olympus_pen_ee-2.htm

    The -3 is identical to the -2, with the exception of the "Flashmatic" feature.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2018
  9. billdele

    billdele Member

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello, Artur:

    Here are the steps on my EE-2. Check to see if the EE-3 has a similar setup.

    * Set the ISO number by turning the inner ring on the lens to the appropriate number
    * If you get a red flag when you press the shutter, there is not enough light for a photo with that film. Don't force it. If you have forced it already, it may be damaged.
    * The f-stops on the inner ring are for flash. set the f-stop required by the flash, exposure will be at that aperture and 1/40 sec. on the EE-2.
    Maybe this will be of some help.

    Delible
     
  10. OP
    OP
    artur ferreira

    artur ferreira Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Location:
    brazil
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Thank you so much everyone for all of your helping!! My main guess is that the selenium meter is damaged. Even when the ambiance is very light the red sign appears, and, I can't take the picture, obviously. I can only take pictures in the lowest ASA. Guess we'll see when I print the film... If anyone's interested I can publish them here, just ask.
     
  11. Helios 1984

    Helios 1984 Member

    Messages:
    561
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Location:
    Smallville, Canada
    Shooter:
    35mm