Members
Latest member
swededreams
Recent bookmarks

eddie

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
I have a negative with a scratch... Of course, it's across part of the sky, giving me a black line through a white cloud. I have potassium ferricyanide, and I'd like to bleach out the cloud (and line) on the prints I've made. I've never done this before, so have a few questions/assumptions:
1- I assume I should re-wet the paper.
2- I plan on applying the PF with a cotton ball, and/or q-tips.
3- After bleaching, I should re-fix, wash, etc, as normal.
4- How should I mix the PF solution? How many grams PF powder to ounces of water?
Thanks.

Vaughn

Subscriber
Shooter
Large Format
I suggest not re-wetting the paper. That way, the bleach will not diffuse away from the scratch. Get the scratch bleached out first using a very small brush, such as a 000 spotting brush. Then you might want to wet the whole print and attack the general area (cloud). Put the print on a slanted piece of glass in the sink. and use a hose or beaker of water to control the action of the bleach.

It will be an interesting experiment (have several copies on hand!). But in the end, you might decide the best thing to do is either to rephotograph, or just forget about the negative/image and move on.

Vaughn

keithwms

Shooter
Multi Format
My first suggestion is to enlarge to ortho film, to the size at which you want to print. You can retouch the ortho film quite easily. You could also make a paper neg and retouch the back surface of that with a pencil (and even erase!)...

Selective bleachign can be done but generally I think you want to make yourself a neg that gives you a fighting chance. Bear in mind that in the interneg, the black line will be white... which can be filled in... and it's usually easier to make something light go dark than vice versa.

dpurdy

Shooter
8x10 Format