Scanning Negatives?

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by jamusu, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. jamusu

    jamusu Member

    Messages:
    305
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Shooter:
    35mm
    For those who scan their negatives, how is it done? Do I need a special film scanner?

    Jamusu
     
  2. Stock Dektol

    Stock Dektol Member

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No, Just a generic scanner that has an insert for film. You usually use the "import" function in your image editor.
     
  3. DJGainer

    DJGainer Member

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Decent software is helpful.
     
  4. chriscrawfordphoto

    chriscrawfordphoto Member
    Ads Enabled

    Messages:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    A real film scanner really is needed. Lots of generic flatbeds can scan film, but the quality is below that of film-only scanners.
     
  5. tiberiustibz

    tiberiustibz Member

    Messages:
    1,748
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Tufts Univer
    Shooter:
    35mm
    hack.

    Depends on film size. A 35mm negative needs a dedicated scanner. 4x5 slides scan well on flatbeds with transparency illuminators.
     
  6. Pinholemaster

    Pinholemaster Member

    Messages:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    Westminster,
    Shooter:
    8x10 Format
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies. If you have a Photrio account, please log in (and select 'stay logged in') to prevent recurrence of this notice.