Scanner for school

Discussion in 'Scanning and Scanners' started by CMoore, Aug 18, 2018.

1. CMoore

CMoore Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am taking a "Intro To Digital Photography" at my local college. Taking because i would like to get an introduction to Lightroom and making Digital Negatives.
    The problem for me is...i am 60 years old, and this is a Photography Class...part of their Photo-Art-Design program. They want to teach 20 year old students how to use a (Digital) 35mm Camera, and then print with Lightroom and Photoshop...Etc etc etc. and move onto their degree.
    I am not there for a degree...i am not an artist...i'm just a hack Street Photographer.
    I do not Want to buy another camera, especially a 300 dollar digital camera.
    I was thinking it would be better to just buy a scanner, take a few of my 35mm Negs, scan them into a computer, transfer that onto one of those stick things, and then take THAT to school and then i will have digital files for their computers, and i can learn Lightroom.
    Is there any reason this will not work.?
    I mean the School Computer will not know or care what camera generated the digital files, will it.?

AND.....would this scanner be OK for that.?
    Thank You

https://www.amazon.com/Plustek-Opti...34588404&sr=8-4&keywords=plustek+film+scanner

2. Dismayed

Dismayed Subscriber

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    There is a learning curve with scanning, and scanning itself does take time. So why not buy a used DSLR for use during the class? You could sell it when the class ends if you decide to stay with film only.

KEH sells Nikon D70s for 4105 in Ex+ condition, charger included. Better yet, buy a used digital camera that has the same mount as your film camera.

3. RattyMouse

RattyMouse Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Scanned negatives are nowhere near as malleable as a RAW file from a digital camera. Especially from a cheap scanner.

4. bdial

bdial Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter: