Reloading roll back into same 35mm camera?

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
178,660
Messages
2,457,488
Members
94,599
Latest member
JKFTL
Recent bookmarks
0

jphendren

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
130
Location
North Las Ve
Shooter
35mm
When reloading a roll that has had a few frames shot back into the same camera (EOS-1V) that it was shot in before, is it safe to advance right back to the same frame that you left off on? Or do you need to advance one or two beyond?

Jared
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
1,177
Location
Hamilton, Ca
Shooter
Multi Format
One thing you can do (esp. for planned multiple exposures) is to register your film when you load it. Put a registration mark with a Sharpie somewhere on your film transport guide. When you load a fresh roll, mark the film where it lines up with your registration mark. Write the frame number on the tongue when you unload a partial roll, then line it up when you reload it. Should be bang on.
 

Apertureman

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
21
Location
USA
Shooter
35mm
One thing you can do (esp. for planned multiple exposures) is to register your film when you load it. Put a registration mark with a Sharpie somewhere on your film transport guide. When you load a fresh roll, mark the film where it lines up with your registration mark. Write the frame number on the tongue when you unload a partial roll, then line it up when you reload it. Should be bang on.

Would that have to be done in the darkroom, though?
 

Lee L

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
3,280
Shooter
Multi Format
I always go +2 on the frame count. Be sure to cover the lens when advancing and throwing the shutter. I always set a high shutter speed and small aperture, just in case. Also, reloading can sometimes be a problem with transparency film, depending on the lab. Some automated cutters don't check frame spacing, and some operators don't pay a lot of attention. Might be worth asking the lab about their setup in advance if re-loading partially shot slide film.

Lee
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
7,174
Location
Milton, DE USA
Shooter
Multi Format
Auto wind I will always advance a frame. My Minoltas where the film is slipped into the gear on that little notch, I just pick up where I started with no worries. Do it all the time.
 
OP
OP

jphendren

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
130
Location
North Las Ve
Shooter
35mm
"Also, reloading can sometimes be a problem with transparency film, depending on the lab. Some automated cutters don't check frame spacing, and some operators don't pay a lot of attention."

Uh oh, I am shooting Velvia 50. I have been getting my film developed at Wal-Mart; they only charge $6.88 a roll for 36 exposures. The local camera shop that still develops E-6 charges $13.99 IIRC. I am willing to wait 2 weeks to pay half as much.

Jared
 

Lee L

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
3,280
Shooter
Multi Format
Uh oh, I am shooting Velvia 50. I have been getting my film developed at Wal-Mart; they only charge $6.88 a roll for 36 exposures. The local camera shop that still develops E-6 charges $13.99 IIRC. I am willing to wait 2 weeks to pay half as much.

Jared
My understanding is that WalMart sends all transparency film to Dwayne's through Fuji. I'm not sure how closely they watch for frame spacing shifts in mid-roll. They do run a lot of film, and I've been happy with their quality since starting to shoot slides again in the last year or two.

I send to Dwaynes through a local drug store chain's Fuji pickup. My K-14 and E-6 is $5.99 for 36 exposures there from the same lab and courier as WalMart, and they're only 2 miles away, half a mile closer than WalMart. :smile:

Lee
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
1,177
Location
Hamilton, Ca
Shooter
Multi Format
Would that have to be done in the darkroom, though?

No, perhaps I wasn't clear. Register the film when first loaded, before you advance to 1. Rewind film leaving leader out when you want to unload. Write frame number down, say, on the tongue. When you reload that roll, re-register against the mark you originally made. Advance to the frame number you left off at.

No 'safety' margin needed. No darkroom needed. Obviously only if you anticipate changing rolls.
 

removed account4

Subscriber
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
29,853
Shooter
Hybrid
My understanding is that WalMart sends all transparency film to Dwayne's through Fuji. I'm not sure how closely they watch for frame spacing shifts in mid-roll. They do run a lot of film, and I've been happy with their quality since starting to shoot slides again in the last year or two.

I send to Dwaynes through a local drug store chain's Fuji pickup. My K-14 and E-6 is $5.99 for 36 exposures there from the same lab and courier as WalMart, and they're only 2 miles away, half a mile closer than WalMart. :smile:

Lee

they do fine.
i have sent them film like that countless times
and never had a problem.
 

Lee L

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
3,280
Shooter
Multi Format
they do fine.
i have sent them film like that countless times
and never had a problem.

Good to know. Thanks.

I have a roll of E-6 that my son tore out of the cassette with the film advance. I've been procrastinating about sending it in because of concerns over possible mishandling, even with clear instructions. I'll go ahead and send it. Everything I've sent to Dwayne's so far has been straightforward, except that I sometimes get 38 frames on a 36 roll, and they've done better with that than any lab since Kodak before they spun off Qualex.

Lee
 

Rol_Lei Nut

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
1,108
Location
Hamburg
Shooter
Multi Format
"Also, reloading can sometimes be a problem with transparency film, depending on the lab. Some automated cutters don't check frame spacing, and some operators don't pay a lot of attention."
Jared

I've very (very) often swapped film out, also between very different camera brands, with no problem at all.
I always do advance +2 though (for safety).

Also never had a problem with the lab cutting my slide (or negative) in the wrong place (actually, it did happen once, but not on a swapped out film).
YMMV....

Cameras with frame counters that count down while rewinding make the process even easier.
 
OP
OP

jphendren

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
130
Location
North Las Ve
Shooter
35mm
"they do fine.
i have sent them film like that countless times
and never had a problem."

That is good to know. On the EOS-1V, there is an orange mark on the camera body that you pull the film to before closing the camera back, so the film should be loaded exactly the same every time.

On a side note; does anybody know if you can drop Kodachrome off at Wal-Mart?

"Get a MF system with separate/multiple backs"

I'd love a Hasselblad, but the lenses are expensive.

Jared
 

Lee L

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
3,280
Shooter
Multi Format
On a side note; does anybody know if you can drop Kodachrome off at Wal-Mart?
Yes. They have a contract with Fuji, which closed its US labs and subcontracts with Dwaynes. So Kodachrome goes in with the courier and is processed and mounted in cardboard mounts, impression stamped (no ink) with frame numbers and month/year (e.g. OCT 09), and is returned in a decent black plastic box to your local store. Much cheaper than mail in prices at Dwayne's, and no postage.

Don't bother asking the clerk, who may not know. Just put it in the 'off premises' envelopes, mark the special instructions checkbox and write something like Kodachrome or K-14 beside the checkbox. Drop it in the slot with the other film.

Lee
 
OP
OP

jphendren

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
130
Location
North Las Ve
Shooter
35mm
"Don't bother asking the clerk, who may not know. Just put it in the 'off premises' envelopes, mark the special instructions checkbox and write something like Kodachrome or K-14 beside the checkbox. Drop it in the slot with the other film."

Cool!! Thanks for the information. I have 4 rolls of Professional Kodachrome 64 on the way, and was not sure where to get it processed. Back in my younger days, I use to drop off Kodachrome 64 at Wal-Mart and they came back in "Kodalux" boxes.

Jared
 
Photrio.com contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
To read our full affiliate disclosure statement please click Here.

PHOTRIO PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Ilford ADOX Freestyle Photographic Stearman Press Weldon Color Lab
Top Bottom