Pink snow with Velvia 50

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by ITD, May 21, 2018.

1. ITD

ITD Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi, can anyone explain why the snow in this scene comes out pink? I'm no expert with either transparencies in general or Velvia in particular, so have no idea if this is normal or if I should have done something to avoid it - like use a different film for instance. I quite like the look, but it looks very different to how I remember it!

Thanks

Paul
    img042.jpg

2. Alan Edward Klein

Alan Edward Klein Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  3. Trail Images

Trail Images Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello Paul, this is a bit typical of Velvia. Very easy to fix in Photoshop and other post processing programs. This is a magenta cast, red & blue, which is normal for Velvia under certain conditions. I use nothing but Velvia 50, so, I also like the look, but make changes to eliminate most of the obvious cast. There are many ways to eliminate or bring the cast down to your preference if your familiar with using PS. The simplest is to open a Curves Layer and use the white eye dropper on the snow. It will make a drastic change. You can dial down the opacity of the layer to your preferred look in the end.

4. OP
    OP
    ITD

ITD Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This was taken last year so my memory is a bit poor. I think from other shots on the roll that the sun was to the right of me and slightly behind - the shadows seem to back that up too

5. Trail Images

Trail Images Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This was 4x5 Velvia 50 image. It had a magenta cast that I changed in PS. There is still a taste of pink in the snow. And, I like the amount of magenta left. The sunrise was directly behind me.

Attached Files:

6. OP
    OP
    ITD

ITD Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format