Threads
Members
Latest member
tachoknight
Recent bookmarks

Armango739

Shooter
35mm
Hello I am new to this photography stuff. My grandfather had left me his Nikon F with the 50mm f/1.4 Nikkor-s Auto and was wondering if anyone would know the compatibility of lenses with the 1959/1960 Nikon F.
I know there are different kinds, I am looking for eventual upgrades. I am thinking of doing some street photography but i also like landscapes.

Sirius Glass

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
Many lenses are compatible if they have the F mount. Auto focus lenses will not work because the needed battery and circuity is not in the camera. You have a wonderful camera, enjoy.
This article may help you or add so confusion until you work your way through it and understand it.
1674076795243.png

1674076931290.png

reddesert

Shooter
Hybrid
The link Sirius posted is a fairly definitive chart. I also recommend reading the manual (download from butkus.org , etc) to understand how to use the camera. If you want to know everything about the Nikon F system, see http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/michaeliu/cameras/nikonf/index.htm

A couple of comments:
- Do you have a light-metered prism? If you do, and the meter works, then lenses need the "rabbit ears" silver prong on top to couple to the meter. Read a manual to understand how to couple the lenses to the meter. Other lenses will mount, you'll just not have metering (or use stop-down metering).

- Almost all manual focus lenses will mount and work on the F. Autofocus lenses that have an aperture ring will mount and work, but you won't get light metering. AF lenses that do not have an aperture ring (labeled "G") won't work - that is what Sirius meant to say.

One more thing: the 50/1.4 lens should be great for all general photography. You don't need to upgrade it. The reason to get more lenses would be if you feel the need for other focal lengths, like wide-angle or telephoto.

ic-racer

Shooter
Multi Format