Minor White Fans ?

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by Jayd, Mar 7, 2009.

1. Jayd

Jayd Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Is anyone else studing Minor White and his teaching?
    Jay

2. Jim Noel

Jim Noel Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I studied Minor when the second edition of "A Zone System Manual" was published. No different from Fred Archer and Ansel Adams, just far more test oriented.

3. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes I've studied Minor White, as part of my life-long photographic education, (& at University), he's important for taking the Equivalence a step further, and was a key influence in the renaissance of British Fine Art photography in the 1970's. I have a magazine article "Where the wild thins went" that names Minor White's British disciples and includes John Blakemore & Thomas Joshua Cooper.

Ian

4. Anton Lukoszevieze

Anton Lukoszevieze Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Large Format
    He's a major main man Minor. :smile:
    Anton

5. Anton Lukoszevieze

Anton Lukoszevieze Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Seriously, there is an interesting interview with White in the book Dialogue with Photography, by Hill and Cooper. I was interested to read how highly White thought of the FSA photographers, something I have an affinity with, particularly the work of John Vachon.

6. keithwms

keithwms Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes, I have been a 'student' of White's, and some of his ideas continue to provoke the photographs I [try to] compose.