Manual film speed setting, Minolta si cameras...

Breaking Storm

A
Breaking Storm

  • 3
  • 2
  • 115
Homecoming

A
Homecoming

  • 1
  • 2
  • 107
Centro Cultural San Pablo

A
Centro Cultural San Pablo

  • 1
  • 1
  • 147
Westlawn Dawn.jpg

A
Westlawn Dawn.jpg

  • 1
  • 5
  • 150
Twoism

Twoism

  • 4
  • 2
  • 152

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
181,772
Messages
2,514,772
Members
95,410
Latest member
retina_restoration
Recent bookmarks
1

joeyk49

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
1,325
Location
New Jersey,
Shooter
Multi Format
How do I manually set the film speed for non-DX film on my Minolta 450 si ?
I bought the camera used, without a manual...
 

Thane Bitter

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
20
Location
London, Onta
Shooter
35mm
joeyk49 said:
How do I manually set the film speed for non-DX film on my Minolta 450 si ?
I bought the camera used, without a manual...
The bad news, the 450si reads the film speed via the DN coding on the cassette only, the engineers neglected to add a manual setting on the camera. For film cassettes that don't have DX coding the camera assumes a film speed of 100 ISO. But don't let that stop you, I used to have the same issue with my Minolta 3xi when I started to use bulk film a non-DX coded cassettes. My 2 cent solution was to take a strip of aluminium duct tape (has to be conductive) cut to the size of a DX label and used small cut squares of electrical tape to mimic the DX label. It’s not a graceful solution (duct tape never is) but it works. If you go to Minolta's website you can download a PDF file of the 450si manual. I think this link will take you there http://kmpi.konicaminolta.us/eprise/main/kmpi/content/cam/cam_manual/cam_manual_attachments/max_450si.pdf



WOW! I thought that I was the only Minolta user here! We are not alone :D!
 
OP
OP
joeyk49

joeyk49

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
1,325
Location
New Jersey,
Shooter
Multi Format
Very cool Thane, thanks.

I'll see if I can outwit the chip...

Do you put the electical tape in the black spaces or the silver?
 
OP
OP
joeyk49

joeyk49

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
1,325
Location
New Jersey,
Shooter
Multi Format
...or purchase dx encoded cassettes...

The problem is that I have three rolls of Ilford Pan F 50 and I don't know of anyone selling cassettes with the appropriate encoding.
 

noblebeast

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
559
Location
Southern Cal
Shooter
Medium Format
Porter's camera - www.porters.com - sells dx coded stickers in various speeds that would fix your problem. I think that's the correct address for them - check 'm out.
Try this:
Dead Link Removed

Joe
 

Thane Bitter

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
20
Location
London, Onta
Shooter
35mm
joeyk49 said:
Very cool Thane, thanks.

I'll see if I can outwit the chip...

Do you put the electical tape in the black spaces or the silver?
Hey Joeyk49,

Your right, just cut out small square pieces of electric tape (conversely masking, or clear tape would work, but I found electrical tape easier to work with) and place them over the sliver; sorry I was a bit vague. Clearly the trick is knowing what area to cover, long ago I had created a page full of diagram but naturally I can't find it right now. However a quick Google I found a website that I have to say is way better then what I drew up. Dead Link Removed

You need not worry about the exposure and latitude portions of the code, a quick check of both of my Minolta bodies’ shows that they only have one row of contacts (film speed). At the time I came up with my duct tape solution I only had 2 reloadable cassettes, but if you have more I think Noblebeast's idea is better, less time fiddling about and more time shooting film.:D

 
Photrio.com contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
To read our full affiliate disclosure statement please click Here.

PHOTRIO PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Ilford ADOX Freestyle Photographic Stearman Press Weldon Color Lab Blue Moon Camera & Machine
Top Bottom