Mamiya 6 or 7 or even 645

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by pcooklin, Feb 19, 2009.

1. pcooklin

pcooklin Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi - Id like your view of the Mamiya 6 and 7, or maybe even the 645.
    Im looking for a small and lightweight 120 camera which I can use whilst travelling.

I currently own a few systems, one of them ebing a Bronica ETRSi with a few lenses. Its great, but with the prisms and speed grip it's quote big and heavy.

The only downside I can see to the 6 is the lack of speed of the lenses, 3.5 being the fastest? Im also new to rangefinders, but Im ok with it, I think.

If you can offer any advice, please do.
    Thanks,
    Paul.
    www.paulcooklin.com

2. richard.harbud

richard.harbud Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I used a Mamiya 6 some years ago. I found it good as a travelling camera. It was very quiet (no mirror to tell you that the shutter had fired) and robust. There were two things that irritated me: I was dependant on batteries and the rangefinder was slow to use. I did not find the speed of the lenses to be a problem - mostly I was shooting landscapes or subjects that needed a large depth of field. To be honest I'd go for the Mamiya 6x7 format today - perhaps a better format for most people.

3. OP
    OP
    pcooklin

pcooklin Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks Richard - I like 6x6, but that said, my Broni' shoots 645 and Im used to that. What I like about the Mamiya 6 is that it seems small enough to travel with, I think the 6x7 might be a bit big. But thanks, Im going to do some research on the 6x7 now.

-Paul.

4. Adrian Twiss

Adrian Twiss Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I very much doubt you will have any weight advantage by going for a Mamiya 645. I have 3 and would not condsier any of them particularly light compared to the Bronica (which I have handled but not owned).

5. OP
    OP
    pcooklin

pcooklin Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format