maintaining infinity while extending rear bed

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Joe Washington, Dec 21, 2017.

1. Joe Washington

Joe Washington Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    hello, I am new to 4x5 format and recently purchased a Toyo field camera. in order to shift the rear standard I have to extend the rear bed by about 1 cm. I assume I therefore also have to move the front standard back an equal distance from the infinity stops to maintain the same setting for infinity. Is this the normal procedure or am I complicating things? Thanks for any input. jw

2. voceumana

voceumana Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It is normal for any camera with a rear extension to have to shift the lens back to compensate for any rear extension.

I'll have to check my Toyo to see if I have to extend the back to shift. Note that you can always buy a second set of infinity stops and mount them back for the back extension position--when they fold down, they are out of the way and won't interfere with using the front stops. Although, I generally don't use the infinity stops because I have several lenses.

3. OP
    OP
    Joe Washington

Joe Washington Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    thanks, I considered that as an option but was already planning on an extra set of stops for my next lens, if I had to do this for two lens I would have 4 sets of stops and that seems excessive. I figured I would attach some kind of scale along the bed so I could keep the same distances between the standards, but I haven't been able to find any discussion of how others deal with this or if necessary, even the view camera books - Simmons, Adams, don't go into details, but maybe that's cause most cameras don't require extending the bed to use the shift?

4. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format