Members
Latest member
stngoldberg
Recent bookmarks

CMoore

Subscriber
Shooter
35mm
I am kind of new to APUG and Photography. I did not realize, until i posted in another forum, that Annie Liebovitz could be such a Polarizing/Divisive topic.
Sssoooooo.....i am simply asking about somebody LIKE Annie Liebovitz.
When they shoot a cover, say for Rolling Stone Magazine, say of Keith Richards -
How many frames (round numbers) do they generate for something like that.....20-30-40-370.?
Then, who wades through all of that to decide what the magazine will see...does The Magazine see all of it.?
Or does it vary from magazine to magazine and from photographer to photographer...maybe some are cut more slack than others.?
Or perhaps this is a huge and unanswerable question.....:smile:
Thank You

Theo Sulphate

Shooter
Multi Format
No idea, really, and it may depend largely on the photographer, but I'd say in the digital era perhaps ten times as many frames are made.

It likely also depends on whether this is a studio session or at a concert.

MattKing

Shooter
Multi Format
With Annie Liebovitz, many of her current magazine covers are large productions which involve many players. Most likely the magazine's art directors and editors are directly involved with those shoots.
Historically, a fair number of the centerfold and covers for Playboy magazine were shot on 8x10 film, so most likely there weren't a lot of frames taken then.
Some covers are simply one shot chosen from many taken for the accompanying story. National Geographic works/worked that way.

OP
OP

CMoore

Subscriber
Shooter
35mm
Right...OK.....so a Huge Question with many potential answers.
One would probably need to narrow it down to a certain decade and genre to get any kind of General Idea.

tedr1

Shooter
Multi Format