Legacy L110 or R09 Rodinal for Acros II?

Recent Classifieds

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
rt810
Recent bookmarks

ColdEye

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
Which one, or are they not that different? I have been shooting for a few years now and until now I really cant tell what the differences between developers are, but I do know what I like (I do not like Xtol or Tmax developer). I have used L110 and Rodinal and PaRodinal before. I like them because they last a long time and they are easy to mix (no powders please). For the people who have shot Acros II and have used either of these developers, what did you like and not like about them? I have never tried Acros II before, it seems it is not that different from the old acros.

Todd Niccole

Shooter
35mm
I have no experience with Rodinal but I don't recommend L110 or HC-110 for Acros. They make Acros too grainy which I haven't expereinced with other developers(ID-11, Microphen), even print developers for high contrast(Ultrafine, PQU). The two were not made for each other.

OP
OP
ColdEye

ColdEye

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
I ordered some R09 to experiment with, just waiting for it to arrive. I will post my conclusions.

DREW WILEY

Shooter
8x10 Format
Both of those choices seem too grainy for a premium fine grained but high acutance film like ACROS. I personally prefer PMK pyro, but even D76 or Perceptol would seem to be a more logical choice than Rodinal or 110.

lantau

Shooter
Multi Format
I used Acros a few times with Rodinal years ago. IIRC it is has a little more grain, but a pleasant, very fine grain. It depends on your requirements. But you should use E.I.80 with Rodinal.