Members
Latest member
philipandre
Recent bookmarks

henrit

Shooter
Digital
Hi, folks,
Let me introduce myself: I'm an anesthesiologist and amateur photographer, born and living in northeastern Brazil (bright sun all year round), and quite interested in alternative photography processes, starting with cyanotype and kallitype.
Now let me bring you my first question, certainly the first of many others to come: would a well processed and toned kallitype eventually fade if printed on a buffered paper? Should we acidify buffered papers, or avoid them altogether, when working with kallitypes?
I thank you all in advance and wish you a great New Year.

J 3

Shooter
Medium Format
Buffered papers are usually a problem for silver chemistry. The buffering often interferes with the image formation. People will sometimes soak a buffered paper in a mild solution of vinegar and then wash it out if they want to use it with buffered paper. Cyanotype is not nearly so sensitive to the paper type for good results. Somewhere on the internet there is a master paper list for papers that are known to work for various alternative processes. As for fading, yes a kallitype would fade unless toned or hermetically sealed. The image is colloidal silver and quite unprotected. If left un-toned, the silver will oxidize fading the image. Toned Kallitypes can be quite lovely. I'm a fan of theorea gold toned Kallitypes but selenium toner is easier to come by.

J 3

Shooter
Medium Format
P.S. If I were doing a finished piece I'd stick to unbuffered papers of higher quality unless the effect I was looking for was only available in a buffered paper. For practice, or experimentation I wouldn't hesitate trying to get whatever to work. What I wouldn't do personally is invest in a large amount of buffered paper for alternative process work. It's IMO better to avoid the hassle without a good reason not to.

Herzeleid

Shooter
Multi Format