Is FB paper harder to print?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by sruddy, Sep 15, 2018.

1. sruddy

sruddy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm a beginner in the darkroom and am still mostly in the testing and learning mode. I'm trying to decide on which paper to use for my final prints. I started with ILFORD RC satin and pearl, and have tried their art 300, FB ilfobrom Glossy grade 3, and now FB VC Warmtone semi matt. I succesfully printed the negative I'm working with on 20 x 24 RC pearl with nothing put a single exposure using #2 filter. I was very happy with the result except for the plastic paper. Moving onto the FB working on 8 x 10 size my highlight detail is blown out. Am I not developing the paper long enough of should I expect the FB paper to print different from the RC paper?

2. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Each paper is different, although some of the differences are small.
    A good approach is to adjust exposure to obtain the highlights and mid-tones you like, and then adjust the contrast to obtain the shadow rendering you like.

3. winger

winger Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What Matt said plus, yes, Ilford fiber needs more development time than their RC. At 68 F (ish) and Ilford MG developer at 1:9, I use 1 minute for RC and 2 minutes for fiber. No matter what else I may change, I keep those consistent. But there are some tweaks for fiber compared to RC that seem to change with each different image. I also get a little pickier when I'm using fiber, I think.

4. BMbikerider

BMbikerider Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    It is not any more difficult to print just more expensive, so you take more care when printing. Resin coated is fine when you are learning to print and for most general work. I only use FB when I have a print that is good enough and the extra effort is worth it.

5. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format