I have an unopend box of Ektalure 11x14....

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Matt5791, Feb 13, 2009.

1. Matt5791

Matt5791 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've hoarding this one box of 50 sheets for a couple of years since buying it from a photographer having a clear out in London. I haven't dared cut the tape and open it.....I've just kept it, "my precious".........

I've never used this paper before, but have heard great things - 1930's Holywood portraits is one of them. Creamy skin tones is another. It all sounds wonderful.

So, what I want to know is....from those with experience, what sort of subject matter should I save, or more importantly, shoot specifically for this paper?...What are its characteristics?

Many thanks,
    Matt

2. rthomas

rthomas Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I used to buy this paper in 11x14 size for printing large-format negatives when I was in a studio class. It was great for a series of self portraits I did. I can't scan any examples for you, they're in storage. I miss it, it's a great paper.

3. Mike Wilde

Mike Wilde Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    iI's got a creamy white base, and can give wonderful warm tones when developer in a warm tone developer, ala ansco 130 with a bit more than normal of bromide.

It also can tone in an actual toner rather nicely also. It is susceptible to staining, so wash well before toning.

I would hold onto it for loving softish resolution portraits of older individuals.

It is a single grade, so make sure that the neg you use is suited to that grade, or be prepared to dodge and burn like mad, or use a contrast reducing unsharp mask technique to get a higher contrast neg to print easily on this paper.

I used the last of my stash last year, and scour every camera fair and camera store old stocks I get to for more of the stuff.

4. pgomena

pgomena Member