Hope for the next generation...

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by DoryBreaux, Dec 28, 2017.

1. DoryBreaux

DoryBreaux Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Today I was given a glimpse of hope for a future generation.
    To put this in context, I am a ski coach and instructor in Lake Tahoe, CA, and during the holidays I frequently teach kids from 3-15 years of age.
    Today, I was working with a (very mature) 7 year old whom I have for 5 days this week. While riding up the chairlift, she asks me what other things I do when the snow goes away. I mention photography and that I used to help run the photo department at the resort, and on hearing this she gets very animated and nearly shouts "You're a photographer??? I just got a Polaroid camera I love photography!" At first I thought 'okay great, another kid whose parents bought them a gimmicky toy from their past.' But then she proceeds to tell me all about how she likes to experiment with different kinds of instant film, why she likes using an "instant" camera instead of a phone camera (yeah, apparently 7 year olds are allowed to have phones these days :blink::blink::getlost::getlost::sick::sick:), and mostly that it was more fun. She genuinely seemed to understand what she was saying, and her excitement whilst talking about it was real.
    Aside from this kid being really fun to ski with, she's given me hope that even a generation or two down the road, there will still be some interest in analog imaging. I think someone is getting a Rangefinder for her birthday :D!
    Just thought this was worth sharing with the group! Happy holidays.

2. Pentode

Pentode Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That’s great news! One seven-year-old at a time we can save the world!

3. Andrew O'Neill

Andrew O'Neill Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    7 year olds should NOT have phones. An Instax, on the other hand...

4. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber
    Ads Enabled