Harman Titan 8x10 opinions?

Discussion in 'Pinhole Photography' started by rince, Feb 6, 2015.

1. rince

rince Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi there!

I have another question, this time concerning the above mentioned Titan 8x10. Does anyone of you use it? I can only find very limited information on how people like it. I watched all the youtube videos and the filmwaster one mentioned, that it has a tendency to wobble in even slight breezes. I am not good at all with tools and I rather would not build a 8x10 camera by myself. Is there a different camera you would recommend for 8x10 (not exceeding the budget of the Titan) ?

Thanks
    Dennis

2. Matt Fattori

Matt Fattori Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'll make you a sturdier one for $300.

3. momus

momus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm not a large format shooter, but wonder if the instability is due to its very light weight, or the fact that it's a big camera that is bound to catch a lot of wind no matter what? Or both?

4. OP
    OP
    rince

rince Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I guess it is a combination out of the two and maybe it is also related to the flexibility of the material, but I am honestly not sure. No store around here carries the camera, so I could have a look before I buy, therefore I wanted to see what experiences of people here were with the camera.

5. OP
    OP
    rince

rince Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    So what kind of camera are you offering here?
    Do you have pictures and specs?
    Thanks
    Dennis

6. Xpres

Xpres Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    It is like putting a sail on top of your tripod... so you need a very heavy one. The camera itself is very sturdy and attaches well to the tripod.

7. Dr Croubie

Dr Croubie Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Keeping it low to the ground may help.