Members
Latest member
Anthony_
Recent bookmarks

fizzcat

Shooter
DSLR
Hi
I have been developing a desktop camera obscura on and off for about 10 years now, and I was asked by some graphic design teachers to produce plans for the current model so they could build some for their students. I have posted the plans on my website available under the CERN-Open Hardware License (a bit like the GPL software license, but for hardware).

Although not strictly a photographic camera (you use a pencil rather than film or paper), I wondered whether any of you in the DIY zone of Photorio might be interested. Next time I get it out I'll take some photos of the prototype and post them on the thread at the top of this forum.

I also have a fixed focus box camera. Interested?

Am I OK to post a url to the zip file of the plans? This is NOT commercial. You are completely free to download these plans, and copy them to whoever you want. The purpose of the license is to keep these plans freely available at no charge:

http://www.clivecatterall.com/Desktop_Camera_Obscura.zip

Have Fun!

Clive

PS Zemax model is available - but it is so simple you could probably model it yourself v. easily. It was the mechanical design that was difficult.

pdeeh

Shooter
Multi Format
Zemax model is available - but it is so simple you could probably model it yourself v. easily.
You may be overestimating the abilities of the Photrio membership in your latter suggestion.
But feel free to upload whatever a Zemax model is (I haven't googled that yet)

tsobota

Shooter
Multi Format
I downloaded the plans. Very nicely done. But I always thought that this optical setup was called "camera lucida". A camera obscura is a different concept IMHO.

OP
OP

fizzcat

Shooter
DSLR
You may be overestimating the abilities of the Photrio membership in your latter suggestion.
But feel free to upload whatever a Zemax model is (I haven't googled that yet)
He he he