Threads
Members
Latest member
philipandre
Recent bookmarks

trondsi

Shooter
35mm
I have been using my Crown Graphic on and off for a few years now. I still think it is far more difficult to use than my 35mm and medium format cameras, but it is also very nice to get those huge negatives and positives back. However, I have noticed that my images tend towards softness towards the edges. This is probably a bit because of the nature of the Optar lens (at least this is what I heard), but it also tends to be significantly worse on the right side of the image. Sometimes it is plainly out of focus on the right side, although it is usually not visible to the naked eye (i.e. I have to use the loupe to see it). The film holders do not seem to be the issue here. Any suggestions?

Luckless

Shooter
Multi Format
Are you sure everything is in alignment?

First test I can think of would be to rotate your lens and see if the issue rotates with it or remains the same. Rule out a lens issue vs camera alignment issue. If you give the lens a half turn and the softness shifts to the left, then you know the issue is in the lens. If it remains on the right, then something would be misaligned with the camera.

OP
OP

trondsi

Shooter
35mm
Are you sure everything is in alignment?

First test I can think of would be to rotate your lens and see if the issue rotates with it or remains the same. Rule out a lens issue vs camera alignment issue. If you give the lens a half turn and the softness shifts to the left, then you know the issue is in the lens. If it remains on the right, then something would be misaligned with the camera.

OK, maybe I can check that. I also thought of something; I wonder if the film holder moves slightly when I pull the dark slide. Not sure if this should bring the image out of focus though.

shutterfinger

Shooter
4x5 Format