Best Way to Expose for Landscapes

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by cherryrig, Feb 2, 2009.

1. cherryrig

cherryrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Right this is my issue.

I only have a L-358 with the Retractable Lumisphere and I'm having some problems with getting the right exposure for the landscape.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips and pointers to getting the right correct exposure. Some people have said to take of the Lumisphere and then point it towards the scene, making sure you cover around the light sensor.

Just need some people really and if you could try and explain in newbie talk as I'm quite new to all this landscape exposure stuff haha :rolleyes:

Cheers

2. optique

optique Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  3. OP
    OP
    cherryrig

cherryrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Yea I just have now, doesn't really say about measuring for landscapes :sad:

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    In Gloucestershire :D the green grass is a good equivalent of Zone V or a Kodak Grey card, metering off the grass works fine (no diffuser). I don't know your specific meter but as it has a diffusing sphere with that in place point that sphere at the light source, the sun on the few days it's out, or the brightest part of the sky the other 360 days of the years :smile: That give a good reading for all but complex situations with deep shadows & bright highlights.

Ian

5. eddym

eddym Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you are standing in the light from the same sun that illuminates the landscape, just take an incident reading.

6. OP
    OP
    cherryrig

cherryrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    But if I'm not

Say if I'm taking a photo of sunset so the only light is from the setting sun. How do I meter for that?

7. bobwysiwyg

bobwysiwyg Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format