Beseler 45 question

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by RSImages, Dec 5, 2018.

1. RSImages

RSImages Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    For those of you using a Beseler 45 enlarger, how often do you have the head all the way to the top of the chasis? I picked one up recently (total newbie to printing) and it has been sitting on my basement floor. I finally got a 135mm lens delivered today so I can now do 4x5 negatives giving me a bit of a push to get it up off the floor. So I'm trying to decide on a platform to sit the enlarger on. A 30" height will have the frame against the ceiling in my basement bathroom. Just trying to gauge how high I can go for most uses or alternatively what limitation I'm placing on printing if I never raise the head so that it sticks above the frame..

2. jim10219

jim10219 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    It depends on how large of a print you're trying to make. With a 135mm lens, I wouldn't think you'd have it all the way up there that often, if ever. Not unless you're doing huge prints, in which case you can always expose them vertically.

Beseler makes an adjustable table so you can actually put your easel below the enlarger's normal base level to mimic a larger column without having to clear all of that headroom. And you can place the base at it's normal position for most enlargements so you don't have to stoop over so far all of the time. They're quite handy. They're also expensive new, but should be fairly reasonable used, if you can find one locally.

3. OP
    OP
    RSImages

RSImages Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks for the quick reply. That's kind of what I thought. I don't plan to make huge prints so I assumed I would be ok, but thought I would ask. I've seen the base that they make on ebay and it is still pretty expensive if I remember correctly. Thanks again for the input.

4. Konical

Konical Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Good Afternoon, RSI,