Advice/comments from members who print pushed negatives sometimes...

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by Juan Valdenebro, Feb 3, 2018.

1. Juan Valdenebro

Juan Valdenebro Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello. I have not printed for the last 8 years… I kept my Ilford filters and my 50 Nikon and 80 Rodenstock, but I gave away my 6x6 enlarger because it was really expensive bringing it with me when I moved from Spain to South America in 2010. I haven’t bought another enlarger since.

I’m asking for advice here… I’m no expert: the only enlarger I ever owned was an east Europe one, common during the 90’s… It was called Meopta Opemus 6a: I used it for many years and it never gave me any problem.

Here’s what I need from an enlarger: first, I won´t print color, just B&W… Even though most of my prints will come from 35mm negatives, I need a 6x6 enlarger because I use my Hasselblad too. But honestly 99% of my prints will be 35mm, and here’s the key to think and decide what to buy: in my case, the general rule is printing negatives that are a bit higher in contrast than normal… I do street at 1600 with the lens stopped down, commonly HP5+ in Microphen stock or in very diluted Rodinal without agitation, because apart from trying to control contrast, I like sharp grain on prints. HP5+ is great for well done pushing, but although the look is close to natural, the case is all my negatives are slightly pushed… So, if we add El-Nikkor 50mm isn’t precisely a soft contrast enlarging lens, I think I might be needing an enlarger that’s good for contrasty negatives… Back in the 90’s, and talking about common negatives (not pushed ones), that Meopta with the Nikon 50 gave me horribly contrasty prints with filter #3, and I had to use filters 2 and 1 ½ al the time, so I guess this is where I need advice from you guys who have printed a lot more than I have… I don't want way too low contrast filters every day, and I hate flat muddy prints.