Threads
Members
Latest member
Drumfishie
Recent bookmarks

Tim Stapp

Shooter
4x5 Format
Developing 4x5 in Jobo. Better to develop two sheets at a time in multiple 2523 tanks or 6 sheet in three separate tanks?
I'm debating because I have one drum with a six sheet reel and have an opportunity to locally purchase another three 2523 tanks.

Mick Fagan

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
4 sheets at a time in one tank. Place two sheets on the inner slots and two sheets on the outer slots.

I've been doing it like that for close to 20 years, up until I purchased my SP445 tank.

I had a lot of film to develop after a holiday last year, used the Jobo to do it.40 sheets 4 sheets at a time, super consistancy as usual, but easy as; did it in a day.

I tried 6 sheets as a test in the early 1990's, there was inconsistancy, so I only ever did 4 sheets before and after that test.

Beware if you are running the older CPE2 unit, that the amount of chemistry that the motor can turn is limited. Around 600ml of chemistry for the original CPE2 motor, which equates to 5 rolls of 135 film using the 1520 tank with the 1530 extension module. In fact in Germany Ilford sold 600ml kits of their ID11 developer to cater for the German market, where Jobo processors were seemingly in every second darkroom back then.

Mick.

OP
OP

Tim Stapp

Shooter
4x5 Format
I do have the newer style 2509N 4x5 reels, but have never done more than 4 sheets at a time based upon your experience. Always good development. I've also done two sheets at a time in the "test drum" using the print drum "macaronis." Always good development. Mick, as you saw in one of my earlier posts; I'm looking at a couple Jobo drums available locally at a decent price. I have the CPE2+ that still has the 600 ml limit. My thinking is that if I have more than a couple sheets to develop, three test drums and a 2509N reel might speed things up. Maybe just GAS attack :smile:.

Mick Fagan

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format