Wimberley WD2+ Pyro

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by danlidon, Feb 6, 2009.

1. danlidon

danlidon Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I just tried out some of the photographer's formulary john wimberley pyro developer. Has anyone else tried this, and what kinds of results did you get? I've never used pyro developer before or any developer that gives a stain. I'm pretty sure I developed my negatives correctly, but I'm not sure what the best way to print them would be. I've tried a print with a couple different filters and can't seem to get one I like. Any thoughts?

2. keithwms

keithwms Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    How are you printing? Graded paper? Multigrade? And what's wrong with your prints... can you scan one and show us, or describe it?

I have really enjoyed wd2d+.

3. Robert Brummitt

Robert Brummitt Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I also use WD2D+ with great results. It would be helpful if you supplied a sample image or description of the issue.

4. Guillaume Zuili

Guillaume Zuili Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It gives beautiful results. Tri-X , FP4. It's a no brainer pyro.
    :smile:

5. OP
    OP
    danlidon

danlidon Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I'll scan a negative and a print tomorrow. They just seemed a little flat to me, a lot of grays and no sharp blacks.

6. mikebarger

mikebarger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Did you test for film speed and development time?

Mike

7. Guillaume Zuili

Guillaume Zuili Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    They always look flat. Print you will be surprised.
    :smile:

8. craigclu

craigclu Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Groups: