Weston Cine Exposure Meter Question

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by noahsmith, Jan 23, 2018.

1. noahsmith

noahsmith Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I was recently given a Weston Cine Exposure Meter (Model 819) by a relative. It doesn't seem to be reading light properly and I'm wondering if there is a battery that needs to be replaced? I've tried to take it apart but cant figure out how to. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to open these meters and if they actually take batteries?

I'm primarily a film photographer and I realize this meter was made for motion picture film. I've attached two photos below for reference. Just curious if I could use it in my workflow, any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Young He

Young He Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    35mm
    Seems like a selenium meter. I somewhat dislike the older selenium meters (at least the weston master IV or something like that) because they break rather easily. Selenium meters do not need a battery but they can give inaccurate readings if they are old. Could possibly be used for still photography, but if it is inaccurate you might as well buy another meter. I hear some phone light meters work quite well depending on how well your phone can expose. Just my 2 cents.

3. bdial

bdial Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No batteries. As Young He mentioned, selenium meters don't age so well, old Westons that don't work are far, far more common than ones that do.
    If it does react to light at all, you might be able to use it by compensating, but it's probably not worth the effort, especially since they continue to degrade, so you would need to calibrate your compensation factor regularly.
    I have a Gossen selenium meter which was dead accurate when I loaned it to a friend a few years ago. I got it back recently, and it's a couple of stops off, and I expect that it spent most of that time in a drawer, away from light.