Versatile, general purpose slide film for noob

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by BetterSense, Feb 6, 2009.

1. BetterSense

BetterSense Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Care to recommend a versatile transparency film?
    I know about Velvia, but I hear it's bad for skintones, plus it's like $10 a roll on freestyle. Maybe a more versatile transparency film, maybe even a cheaper one?

I've never shot slide film, ever, but I've come to realize that people that take color film photography seriously don't seem to shoot print film. Plus, I really want to shoot some slides just because I've never even SEEN developed slide film. I'm a materials scientist working with mostly electronic materials. I see a lot of really creative technology every day, but the idea that humans developed film that could create a positive image with color fidelity just blows me away. Color print film not so much, because there's so much room for fudging in the printing process. But slide film, wow. It's almost like I don't believe it.

Here's the thing. Right now I shoot C41 and get it developed at mini-labs. I shoot a lot of B&W C41 at that. I'm going to start shooting 'real' black and white a lot as soon as we move (more darkroom space). So after I transition to real B&W, when I'm shooting less color it will be easier to shoot expensiver and harder to develop film, and it will be a lower-volume process since most life-documentary photography will be black and white then. I mean if you have to send film out for developing, it might as well be good film.

2. Anon Ymous

Anon Ymous Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Groups: