Threads
Members
Latest member
shawnmcc
Recent bookmarks

Jarvman

Shooter
Multi Format
Hi all, I'm experimenting with making collodion ambrotypes under an enlarger and so far have attempted the hybrid *hiss* approach by loading an inkjet positive in my negative carrier, with pretty decent results I must say! I understand that a silver gelatin positive has a much higher lever of detail though. I wanted to shoot some 35mm film, perhaps XPAN panoramics, reverse develop it and make ambrotypes in my enlarger. The benefit being not having to carry large format camera and darkroom every time I want to make a collodion landscape! Where should I start, what film and chemistry is available that'd suit the job? I'm completely new to this stuff. Some tips or recommendations would be great. Yes, I know it's cheating but exploring the possibilities are fun :tongue:

StoneNYC

Shooter
8x10 Format
Hi all, I'm experimenting with making collodion ambrotypes under an enlarger and so far have attempted the hybrid *hiss* approach by loading an inkjet positive in my negative carrier, with pretty decent results I must say! I understand that a silver gelatin positive has a much higher lever of detail though. I wanted to shoot some 35mm film, perhaps XPAN panoramics, reverse develop it and make ambrotypes in my enlarger. The benefit being not having to carry large format camera and darkroom every time I want to make a collodion landscape! Where should I start, what film and chemistry is available that'd suit the job? I'm completely new to this stuff. Some tips or recommendations would be great. Yes, I know it's cheating but exploring the possibilities are fun :tongue:

First, I know you're not new to the site, but figured I would mention, the best thing I think to suggest would be doing a search, this has been covered in many other threads already with a lot of great info, at least the reversal part, and the new (Adox?) silvermax film would be great to use for reversal.