Reciprocity in 1930s

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by coisasdavida, Jan 2, 2018.

1. coisasdavida

coisasdavida Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    My name is Guilherme and I’m a brazilian photographer and teacher. I’ve been having some difficulty finding some info in a research I’m doing, so please excuse me while I ask for help here.
    In a conversation with a fellow photographer it was suggested to me that Brassai’s, Sudek’s and Brandt’s bodies of work at night (1930 to 1933) happened immediately after a film was launched that managed reciprocity effect better.
    There is even a Time article that suggests such a thing.

Would you know where can I find a source for these statments?

2. Loren Sattler

Loren Sattler Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have a 1947 Kodak Reference Handbook which appears to be a predecessor for the Kodak Data Guides issued later. In a quick look, I cannot find any reference to reciprocity for film exposures despite much data contained on exposure index and guides for exposure under various lighting conditions (sunny 16 rules), flash, etc.
    Good luck with your search.

3. jvo

jvo Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    guilherme,

do you mean that their pictures were taken with recently manufactured film, which resulted in better ability to handle reciprocity?

jvo

4. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Kodak films made a major improvement in reciprocity failure after about 1970.

PE

5. OP
    OP
    coisasdavida

coisasdavida Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    No, jvo, what was suggested was that a new emulsion made night photography easier.
    But now I found an article in which there is a quote by Brassai, saying he timed the exposures at night smoking a cigarette.
    Maybe it was just that the cities were becoming better lit.

6. Old-N-Feeble

Old-N-Feeble Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Acros :D

7. Rudeofus

Rudeofus Subscriber