Problem with FD/42 canon lens mount converter P

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by fencer, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. fencer

    fencer Member

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    Union of Soc
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello everybody, this is my first message here!

    I've just bought "Canon lens mount converter P" to be able to use some m42 lenses with my Canon AE-1 body. The body and mount are both in excellent condition and working.
    FD lenses (new and old silver ring type) always attach without any problem. So I was really surprised when I discovered I could'nt attach the converter. When I align the red dots it seems to snap into place, but it doesn't turn. I didn't use too much force, though, for obvious reasons.

    The converter looks used, but it's in good condition. It has "Made in Japan" written on it.

    Is it a known problem? What should I do? Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Excalibur2

    Excalibur2 Member

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello

    make sure the 42mm bit (viewed from the front) is turned to the right until it stops it should click into position............i.e the fd bit and 42mm bit have to be in the right position otherwise you would get your problem.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2009
  3. OP
    OP
    fencer

    fencer Member

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    Union of Soc
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That was it!

    Thanks a lot, Excalibur2. I'd probably spend another day or two trying to figure out what was wrong, because I didn't even notice that the converter consists of two rings... :rolleyes:

    Time to take Mir and Jupiter for a walk :smile:
     
  4. dances_w_clouds

    dances_w_clouds Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C.
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Groups:
    Same thing happened to me with my A1. Once you done it it's like riding a bicycle. You never forget. I have a nice M42- 35mm lens that works just great.
     
  5. Excalibur2

    Excalibur2 Member

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    Shooter:
    35mm

    ..and it continually happens to me, not only using the convertor but breech lock canon (and other makes) lenses....sometimes I forget to set the lens off auto (a) or (o) before mounting a lens on say an AV1, and the exposure reading doesn't work properly.
     
  6. dances_w_clouds

    dances_w_clouds Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C.
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Groups:
    What I usually do is mount the lens on the adaptor and then onto my FD Canon. My 500 mm has M39 threads I mount the Vivtar converter then the FD agaptor and then onto my Canon. Still turns out great pics. So what if I've lost my infinite focus ?? I only focus on things I can see. If that makes sense but it wrks for me.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    fencer

    fencer Member

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Location:
    Union of Soc
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It's good to know I'm not the only one :tongue:
     
  8. Excalibur2

    Excalibur2 Member

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    Shooter:
    35mm
    ..and with so many different film cameras going cheap, many are buying a collection to play with, but each camera is slightly different, so you have to have a memory for each one...erm now which button is it for spot metering oh wait this camera hasn't got it.
     
  9. RVV

    RVV Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Location:
    Rotterdam Th
    Shooter:
    35mm
    This thread is about *attaching* the Canon Lens Mount Converter P.

    I'm eager to try this adapter on my Canon F-1 original, however, how do I *remove* the adapter after use?

    The adapter has no breech-lock or release button - as far as I see it's only an aluminium ring.

    Can I simply turn the adapter to unmount?

    I don't want to try it and to eventually run the risk to convert my Canon F-1 original from FD to M42 for eternity...
     
  10. RVV

    RVV Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Location:
    Rotterdam Th
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Here's a pic...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Excalibur2

    Excalibur2 Member

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    Shooter:
    35mm
    ****Can I simply turn the adapter to unmount?****

    Yep
     
  12. RVV

    RVV Member

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Location:
    Rotterdam Th
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Yep.

    Silly question - it's just kind of a breech lock.