Printing on Digital transfer film

Discussion in 'Digital Negatives' started by Geopadi2, Nov 22, 2018.

1. Geopadi2

Geopadi2 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi,
    I am trying to print a 10 x 8 Digital negative using Permajets transfer film on an Epson ET-2750 which I know is not the best as it is not a photo printer, however it stops printing completly at about 1.5cm into the print and then just finishes as if there is nothing in printer so I have to pull it out by hand. What it does print (1.5cm) seems of reasonable quality but no matter what settings I try (which are limited anyway) it refuses to print any further. I subsequently printed a positive on glossy photo paper by Permajet without problem. I contacted Epson for help but they just said they cannot advise on anything but Epson products which I guess is predictable sadly.
    Am I wasting my time with this printer ? This is my first attempt at digital negatives and I also want to make a 5 x 4 for enlarging as well as the intended 10 x 8 contact print.
    Thanks

2. Andrew O'Neill

Andrew O'Neill Subscriber
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Try taping the transparency material to a piece of plain paper.

3. OP
    OP
    Geopadi2

Geopadi2 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ah OK thats a good idea hopefully it doesnt all end up jammed in printer ! thanks I'll give it a go.

4. KenS

KenS Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I use a "cheapie' (read $75.00) Cannon printer for printing onto 8.5 by 11 inch Pictorico for 'alt photo' negatives just make sure that you are inserting the Pictorico sheet with the 'red leader' end FIRST

Ken

5. Andrew O'Neill

Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    He's not using Pictorico, though.

6. OP
    OP
    Geopadi2

Geopadi2 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am afraid it did not work same thing happened again, I think I am heading for a photo printer!

7. Andrew O'Neill

Ads Enabled