Threads
Members
Latest member
swededreams
Recent bookmarks

joe7

Shooter
35mm
what the best choice for making print with b&w film?using b&w enlarger or scanning + print from printer?what is the different between both of the method in terms of grains,quality,etc?i just start shooting b&w,and would like to print my picture,so is enlarger is worth to purchase?i'm total newbie in b&w,so really hope that anybody can guide me in a right way..

ozphoto

Subscriber
Shooter
Multi Format
Joe, nothing beats printing your own images the analog way.

Of course printing with an enlarger means you need either access to a darkroom (hire, friend, studio, college etc) or enough room for your own.
Sure you can start out by shooting b&w film and then having it printed at a lab or printing out d******, but it doesn't have the same affect as doing it all yourself and watching the image magically appear in the developer; I've been printing for over 20 years, and I still get a kick out of seeing it develop under my safelight.

Check out your local college or see if there is a darkroom for hire and have a ball! You won't regret it, that I can guarantee. :smile:

keithwms

Shooter
Multi Format
In terms of sharpness and tonality and the sheer pleasure of the process, the ultimate prints are had by plain, good old contact printing. Enlarged negs can be just as good in some limits. You can approach the tonality of those two processes by scanning but IMHO only by very good scanning (i.e. drum) and then by LVT or careful scanning of a digital neg followed by traditional contact printing.

[Aside: You know what ticks me off? When idiots scan a gorgeous neg with some crapola scanner and then say, gee, digital is better than film :rolleyes: Anyway...]