Lurker signs on from Montana

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the PHOTRIO Community' started by VinceInMT, Dec 5, 2017.

1. VinceInMT

VinceInMT Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have frequented these threads for a long time and recently signed on.

I have been a serious hobbyist in photography since 1973 when I was introduced to darkroom process while in the Army stationed in Upstate New York. That the Army provided darkrooms in their hobby shops helped keep my sanity while I did my service there in New York, then New Jersey, and finally a year in Europe.

After getting out I took a job in a medium-size color photo-finishing lab in Southern California and worked my way from film-cutter, to printer, to quality control tech. I did that for about 5 years on the graveyard shift while plugging away at at college classes on the GI Bill.

I left that to work as a mechanical drafter and kept taking college classes with a long-term goal of becoming a high school teacher. I eventually obtained my degree in Industrial Arts, concentration Photography, and, a few years later, moved to Montana and changed careers as a high school teacher (drafting, technology, computer programming.) I retired from that 5 years ago.

All during this time, ever since I got out of the Army, I have had my own darkroom. First was a bathroom in an apartment. Next was the spare bedroom in a rented duplex. Finally the spare bedroom in the first house I purchased. Except for the bathroom one, all were dry. Once I moved to Montana I was able to set one up in a window-less basement room where I installed a drain line and hot and cold running water.

I have tended to be a haptic photographer, letting the processes and my interaction with them drive my creativity and the resulting images. I love experimenting in the darkroom and, to some degree, see the camera as just a necessary tool for having darkroom adventures.