KEH web site -- Is it down?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by rosey, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. rosey

    rosey Subscriber

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I have been trying for several days now to log into Keh.com but cannot. I seem to be able to get everywhere else that I always have. Is there a problem?
     
  2. Travis Nunn

    Travis Nunn Member

    Messages:
    1,601
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Henrico, Vir
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've been checking it out quite a bit the last several days without problems and it's up now, too.
     
  3. HerrBremerhaven

    HerrBremerhaven Member

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just placed an on-line order yesterday. Already have confirmation e-mail. You might try emptying your cache, and pulling up the KEH site again.

    Ciao!

    Gordon Moat
    A G Studio
     
  4. OP
    OP
    rosey

    rosey Subscriber

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I have done everything I can think of, but can't get into keh.com. I can get anywhere else. Any other suggestion?
     
  5. Nick Zentena

    Nick Zentena Member

    Messages:
    4,677
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Italia
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What browser etc are you using?
     
  6. TheFlyingCamera

    TheFlyingCamera Membership Council Council

    Messages:
    9,833
    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was just on it a half-hour or so ago and it was working just fine. Try clearing your cache and your history, and rebooting your PC.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    rosey

    rosey Subscriber

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I cleaned my history AND all my cookies. Still nothing! I'm on Internet Explorer.
     
  8. Travis Nunn

    Travis Nunn Member

    Messages:
    1,601
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Henrico, Vir
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Try this: Go to a command prompt (Start - Run, type in cmd and hit enter) and type in "ipconfig /flushdns" without the quotes
     
  9. Flotsam

    Flotsam Member

    Messages:
    3,221
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    S.E. New Yor
    Is KEH still a sponsor of APUG? Their icon seems to have disappeared from the sponsors page. It would be a shame. They have many loyal customers among the APUG membership.
     
  10. naturephoto1

    naturephoto1 Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,827
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Breinigsvill
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The KEH site loads fine in Firefox.

    Rich
     
  11. OP
    OP
    rosey

    rosey Subscriber

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Seems that I can load the site OK from home with www.keh.com. At work, however, a techie tells me I need https//www.keh.com with the 's' because it's a secure site. We must have added something at work for secure sites. An icon of a lock appears at bottom of screen when a site is secure.
    Thanks to all who tried to help.
    ken
     
  12. roteague

    roteague Member

    Messages:
    6,645
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Kaneohe, Haw
    Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    That is because the root of a website is rarely a secure site, and was not setup for it. Remove the 's'. When you need to checkout the site will direct you to a secure directory (and you will see the lock on the screen).
     
  13. glbeas

    glbeas Member

    Messages:
    3,297
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Location:
    Roswell, Ga.
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You might want to check and see if the site has been blocked by the firewall at your work.
     
  14. Hey, you shouldn't be shopping for camera equipment on company time ... :mad:

    ... like I do! :rolleyes:

    Steve
     
  15. wilsonneal

    wilsonneal Member

    Messages:
    593
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    The site's not down, but there seems to be a LOT less inventory than the last time I looked. And, clicking on "Camera Store" shows me a lot fewer categories of gear. Missing when I checked were categories for "Leica", "Hasselblad", and "Rollei" to name a few.
     
  16. Travis Nunn

    Travis Nunn Member

    Messages:
    1,601
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    Henrico, Vir
    Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've noticed that this happens from time to time. Give it a little while and it'll be back to normal.
     
  17. DeanC

    DeanC Member

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    Mill Valley,
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yeah, it's like they do a purge occasionally. Scared me the first time I saw it happen, I was worried they were going out of business. A few weeks later it looked like it always did.
     
  18. drakeo1

    drakeo1 Member

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter:
    35mm
    They should be back up now