It's my birthday, so obviously...

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by keenmaster486, Jan 6, 2018.

1. keenmaster486

keenmaster486 Member
    Ads Enabled

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    ...I'm beginning my first foray into traditional optical printing!

I hate scanning and I'm already developing my own film so this is the logical next step for me.

(I'm 20 on the 6th, how about that! I don't suppose many college students are doing this sort of thing any more)

So of course since I'm me and not a normal person, I can't just buy paper and an enlarger and do it the usual way. (Also because I'm broke and lazy.) So I came up with a method that I'm going to try to refine just for the heck of it.

I should mention I have never done anything like this before and I have no idea what I'm doing, but I'm having a ton of fun.

"Enlarger": Old broken Retina Reflex III. The thing needs a CLA very badly and the viewfinder lens broke off. The lens is still in great shape though, and seems to work rather well. It appears very sharp. I have the thing mounted three paint cans high above my bathroom counter, and I'm using pieces of clear acrylic to hold the filmstrip in place.

Light source: High power LED flashlight

Safelight: Red-colored 40W bulb with outer half painted black

Paper: HP glossy photo paper. Intended for inkjet printing but we don't want that, do we? Nope. This stuff needs some AG Plus on it. I'm hand coating, which is something I have almost no experience with.

Developer: I'm all out of D-76 so Caffenol it is! I'm using the "Harmony" recipe: http://www.caffenol.org/2010/07/06/harmony-recipe/

Fixer: Kodak Hardening Fixer (bottle I mixed up about two years ago. Some precipitate floating around on top but I guess it might still be good)

I'm using some small bins as trays for the developer and fixer.

As a test, I took an old negative I'd developed earlier last year (kind of a boring picture if you ask me but that's ok) and went ahead with it.